Cranberry and Coconut Macaroons

IMG_1157

I made a batch of these macaroons for my sisters 40th birthday party on the weekend. They were well received. Several people asked for the recipe so I thought I’d do a blog post and share it with you as well.
I played with the recipe by adding different ingredients and really liked the cranberry macaroon, though they do taste just as good plain. Just leave out the cranberries and mix all the ingredients in a bowl.

These are very simple to make and look impressive piled up on a serving dish.

All you need is:-

175g shredded coconut

130g castor sugar

pinch of salt

2 tsp vanilla

60g dried cranberries roughly chopped

2 egg whites

1 egg yolk

Blend the cranberries, eggs and vanilla in a blender until the cranberries are chopped up into small pieces.

Mix the coconut, sugar and salt in a large bowl. Add the cranberry and egg and mix with your hands until everything is well combined.

Form tablespoons of the mixture into whatever shapes you like (I used a teaspoon and my hand to form a cone shape but whatever’s easier for you. It will all taste the same)

Place them onto a baking paper lines baking sheet and cook at 130C for 20 – 25 minutes or until lightly brown.

IMG_1152

Cool on sheet.

IMG_1156

They store well for a week in an airtight container, but trust me, there won’t be any left to store.

Please enjoy…

2 thoughts on “Cranberry and Coconut Macaroons

  1. Hi Lona, I like the sound of these. But can you please just clarify for me which parts of the eggs get added at each stage? Is it the egg whites first with the vanilla and cranberries and then the egg yolk next? Looking forward to a sweet treat soon!

Feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you....

