Seasoned Chicken with Asparagus Sauce.

Well, I finely managed to get a copy of Jane Grigson’s English Food. Thankyou very much Mr Brian P. for lending it to me.

This is the November book for The Cookbook Guru challenge.

Let me tell you, there are some pretty interesting recipes in there. I’ve bookmarked a few pages with recipes containing ingredients that I’ve never cooked with but am definitely up for trying.

Tonight though, I’ve picked something easy. Asparagus Sauce.

Dinner tonight is going to be free range chicken breast which I’ll season with salt, pepper, cumin, sweet paprika, cinnamon and sumac.

image

I’m going to pan fry the meat to give it a lovely golden colour then i’ll put it in the oven (200c for about 10 – 15 minutes) to finish cooking.

In the meantime I’ll be roughly chopping 2 bunches of fresh asparagus spears, leaving a few whole spears for garnish, and steaming them in a little water until they are cooked through. Then pop them in the blender, with a little of the cooking liquid, and purée.image

Once the chicken has finished cooking lift it onto a plate and keep it warm (I put it in the microwave oven and close the door), then pour the asparagus purée into the same fry pan that you cooked the chicken in. All those lovely spices and juices left behind end up flavouring the sauce. Add 30g butter and let it gently melt in.

Now, Jane’s recipe calls for sour cream but I don’t have any so I added some Greek style yoghurt instead, about 3 tablespoons.

Heat through gently and adjust the seasoning if you need to.

image

This meal went down well with a glass (or two) of  Four Sisters  Sauvignon Blanc Semillon.

Enjoy…

7 thoughts on “Seasoned Chicken with Asparagus Sauce.

  1. Pingback: The Cookbook Guru takes on Jane Grigson’s English Food | Sharing The Food We Love

  2. i wouldn’t have picked that recipe at all but now I’ve seen it, it looks wonderfully simple and delicious. And something I would definitely cook myself. I need to go back and look through some of the recipes again!

Feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you....

