bagels…sort of…

Well I tried.  My first attempt at making bagels.  Not true….I made gluten free ones once a few years ago for my sister.  They didn’t turn out much better than this really..

I think I left the dough too wet.  They were hard to handle and squished some when I tried to lift them into the boiling water.  Image

I can’t call them bagels really because the hole in the middle disappeared.

Am I disappointed? Yes. Will I try again? definitely! 

The recipe is one I found on the internet :

450g plain flour,15g yeast, 375g warm water, 60g sugar, 5g salt.

Into a mixing bowl with everything. Mix until it forms a stiff dough (10 minutes), let rest 1 hour. Cut into 12 portions and shape into bagels. Let rest 20 minutes. Carefully put into boiling water, a couple at a time, for 1 minute on each side. Place on baking tray. Brush with egg white, sprinkle with stuff and bake 25 minutes at 220 degrees.

Hmmmm….Image

Did all that.  Got a soggy bread roll with poppy seeds on it. 

They did smell and taste good though….

I WILL try again……

2 thoughts on “bagels…sort of…

    • Thanks Tracy. Gotta take the good with the bad. It’s boring sharing only things that work. Anyway, why should I be the only one to laugh at my blunders…

Feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you....

