Pancakes…

Image

here’s the thing….. I have trouble writing out recipes because I’m one of those people that doesn’t always measure ingredients out. This makes it quite difficult when someone asks ‘how did you make that?’ or ‘how much did you put in?’ It’s also proving very hard when it comes to trying to write up recipes for a recipe book,which has been coming for many a year.

Every now and again I will actually make the effort ( especially now with this blog and all), to take things slowly, write all things down and measure everything with spoons and cups and weights.

I made pancakes this morning. There I was, coffee on the stove, mixing bowl and whisk at the ready, when my husband tells me I should be blogging this recipe, sharing it with others.

Out come the ingredients, the spoons, the cups……

In my medium sized bowl, I measured in 1 cup of wholemeal plain flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon caster sugar, a pinch of bicarbonate of soda, 1 free range egg and about 1 and 1/2 cups of soy milk. I gave it a whisk and made sure there were no lumps and then added a little more milk to make it a thick but runny consistency (Sorry, don’t know how else to describe it).

Time to heat a small non stick fry pan on a medium heat. Brush with a little melted butter, and pour in about 1/2 a cup of the pancake batter. (The amount you pour in will depend on the size of your fry pan and how big you want your pancakes to be).

I then sprinkled on a few fresh blueberries.

Image

This part may seem weird but it worked, I actually covered the pan with a lid for about a minute. It helped the pancake to cook a little faster on top without burning the bottom.

Flip the pancake over and let it cook for another 40 seconds or so.

Slide onto a plate and repeat with the rest of the batter.

I ended up with 4 big fluffy pancakes.

Top with some slices of banana and a few berries and a drizzle or two of some good maple syrup.

Next time I’ll try with a sprinkle of cinnamon on top as well.

Image

5 thoughts on “Pancakes…

  1. These have to be the most yummy looking (and easy to make) pancakes i have seen in a very long time. Love the fact that you used wholemeal flour, always adds a nutty crunch. Definately making this with the fresh berries i bought yesterday. Carol

  2. These look great! The problem I always have with making pancakes is that the last few seem to go black from the remains of butter that has by then burnt on the pan. Do you have any suggestions? Do you brush the pan with butter before each new pancake? Maybe I should wipe the pan? I love love love pancakes but I don’t make them often since I’m not so good at it! (although maybe that’s a good thing for my waistline..!). Many thanks!

Feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you....

