Addis bi haamoud – Spinach and Lentil Soup with lemon

Potato and lentil soup‘What could Lona possibly be making for dinner tonight?’, I hear you say.  Well, I’ve never really been one for left- overs. I like to have something different every night.

Don’t worry though. Left overs are used for lunches the next day. As for the corned beef, it was placed  between two slices of multi-grain bread, smeared with mustard pickles and eaten by my husband at work this very day. I just munched on a slice that I topped with some of the bearnaise. Nice.

However, today feels like a healthy soup day. Again. I love soup!!

I went for a walk and picked up some silver beet. How about a lentil and silver beet soup. Hooray, I hear you all yell.

here we go then – keep up – in a large pot, throw in 1/2 cup of brown lentils that you’ve rinsed, 3/4 fill the pot with water, bring to the boil, then turn the heat down. Cover and let it simmer for about 20 minutes.

Add 1 bunch of silver beet (leaves and a little of the stalk), finely sliced and rinsed, 1 large onion – cut in half and thinly sliced, 2 cups of diced potato, as many garlic cloves as you can handle, ( I usually put in about 7 or 8 large ones), chopped. Stir it well, cover, increase heat to bring it back up to the boil, then lower heat and let it simmer away for another 45 minutes or so until the potato and lentils are cooked.

Season with salt and pepper to taste. Squeeze in the juice of 1 lemon.

This I usually serve with some toasted Lebanese bread.

one of my favourite all time soups.

This will serve four people.

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Addis bi haamoud – Spinach and Lentil Soup with lemon

Feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you....

