Corned beef…..

Corned beef and veg.

Corned beef for dinner tonight. Perfect.

Simple to prepare too…

I’ve got a 1.3kg piece of corned silverside. I’ve rinsed it under cold water and  put it in a large pot with 1 large onion (cut in half), 6 whole cloves, 1 star anise ( not essential, but I do love that slight aniseed flavour), 1/2 cup of white vinegar, and 2 tablespoons of brown sugar. Then just cover the lot with cold water, put a lid on and bring to the boil. Turn the heat down, and let it all simmer for 2 – 2 1/2 hours. Then turn of the heat and leave it to sit for a further 1/2 hour so the meat rests in the liquid.

I’ll be throwing in some baby potatoes 1/2 an hour before I turn the heat off, and some brussel sprouts maybe 25 minutes later. Leave the veggies in with the meat when you turn the heat off. They’ll be fine.

I love to serve this with an avocado bearnaise.

let me know what you think…

6 thoughts on “Corned beef…..

Feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you....

